Skip to main content
You are currently in a sub-section of

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Are my children eligible to ride the bus?
  • May I be held liable for damages my child causes? What is the law? (Liability of Parent or Legal Guardian for Utah)
  • We live in a rural area…the bus doesn’t come out this far… what might I do?
    • An initial application, (Form #602) must be completed and submitted each school year to transportation for approval. Payments will be made from the time the application is received in transportation.  Once the form is approved by the Transportation Department it is sent to the school for their reference.  To be reimbursed for mileage,the parent will need to submit a form (Form #611) with the number of days the student attended school to the principal for his/her signature and verification of student attendance.  The (Form #611) is then matched to the original approval (Form #602) for miles.  After all approvals are completed by the school and Transportation, it is sent to the District for payment.   The check is then mailed to the parent.
  • I know my home is too close to the school to be legally eligible; but I feel it is hazardous for my children to walk each day.  What can I do?  

Check out this link for Safe Routes Utah for helpful information by clicking on the picture. 

  • How safe is my child on a school bus?
    • According to the National Safety Council, the national school bus accident rate is 0.01 per 100 million miles traveled, compared to 0.04 for trains, 0.06 for commercial aviation and 0.96 for other passenger vehicles.

      Therefore, the federal government considers school buses to be about nine times safer that other passenger vehicles during the normal school commute.

      The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that 96 percent of the estimated 8,500 to 12,000 children injured in school bus accidents annually are considered minor (scrapes, bumps, bruises, etc.).

      NHTSA calculated that 4 percent of the school bus-related injuries to children — about 350 to 475 annually — are serious (i.e. broken bones or worse) based on the medical community’s widely accepted AIS or Abbreviated Injury Scale.