Skip to main content
You are currently in a sub-section of

Driver Education

Getting Started (For Students)

  • You must be at least 15.
  • Study the Utah Driver Handbook to prepare for the permit test. You may access the handbook online at or stop by the DLD (Driver’s License Division) to get a hard copy. (102 S. 5300 W. Hurricane, UT)
  • Schedule your permit test and complete the online application at
  • Take your permit test at the DLD. There will be a $19 non-refundable fee. Score at least 80% on a 50- question test of the handbook to qualify for your permit. If you don’t pass, you can take the test 2 more times before you have to pay another fee.

Don’t worry! Not everyone passes on the first try! That’s okay…there’s a lot of information to know when you start driving. Review the questions at the end of the test and learn from them for next time.

  • Once you have your permit, you can sign up for the Driver Ed class at your high school. Pay the student fee at the high school and they will give class registration information specifically for your high school.
  • Complete the online Traffic Safety and Trends Exam. The DLD will give this information to you when you get your permit.
  • Start driving with your parents. Make sure to log your time on a log sheet or in an app. You need at least 30 hours daytime and 10 nighttime practice hours before you can drive with an instructor.

What do I bring to the DLD?

  • Certified birth certificate or passport
  • Social Security card.
  • 2 documents for proof of Utah residency.

You must have your permit for 6 months before you turn 16 and get your license. Start early and leave plenty of time to finish the class and driving/observation time with your instructor.

Classroom options may include:

  • In-person
  • Online
  • A blended model with both in-person and online.

Not every student learns the same! Find the classroom option that works best for you!

Class Requirements

  • Permit. You need your permit before you start the class. Why? Because you need to practice what you are learning throughout the class. You can’t do this if you don’t have a permit.
  • Receipt for payment. Don’t lose your receipt when you pay for Driver Ed. Your instructor will need proof that you’ve paid!
  • Street Smarts. This online program is given during the class, regardless of what method you complete the classroom instruction, and must be finished before you can pass the class.
  • 40 hour driving log. Practice what you are learning. And make sure to have a log of your drive time. This can be done on paper or in an app, but you need documentation showing at least 30 hours of daytime and 10 hours of nighttime driving at home before you can drive with an instructor.
  • Zero Fatalities Parent Meeting. This one-hour parent/student meeting must be attended by you AND your parent before enrolling, or very early on in the class.
  • Truck Smarts. This course teaches students how to drive safer around semis and other large trucks. If not done in-person during class, an online option is available.

Resources (for Parents)

  • Know and understand the permit laws. Your student must never drive alone on their permit.
  • Zero Fatalities has created lots of resources including videos, log sheets, and more to help parents teach their students how to drive. You may find their resources at
  • Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) has put together an amazing Teen Driving Plan which includes videos, goals, activities and more. Find their resources at
  • contains several resources including videos, safe driving tips, an overview of Utah GDL laws and more.
  • Know and understand the importance of Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Laws and how they have been created to help keep your teen, and others safe, as a new driver.

Be a good model for your student to learn from. Buckle up, don’t drive distracted, and help your student to practice, practice, practice!